Bob Westphal Memorial Scholarship accepting applications to support energy construction

The Bob Westphal Memorial Scholarship is now accepting applications for the 2024-2025 school year. Awarded to students interested in pursuing a career in energy construction, applications for the $2,500 scholarship are due by May 31. Students can submit applications through the SkillsUSA website at  

The Bob Westphal Memorial Scholarship is a five-year program that was established to honor Robert H. Westphal (1944-2020) in recognition of his impact on the oil and gas pipeline construction industry. The program is aimed at assisting students interested in pursuing a career in energy construction. This year will mark the fourth year that the scholarship has been presented.

The scholarship was established in 2020 by Benjamin Media, publisher of Solar Builder, and Continuum Capital in cooperation with SkillsUSA. The first winners of the scholarship were awarded for the 2021-2022 academic year.

This scholarship honors Westphal who committed a lifetime of leadership in pipeline construction. He gave back to the industry in many ways, including leadership positions with industry associations and in working with labor organizations. The scholarship recognizes his legacy and contribution to the pipeline industry by encouraging young people to pursue a career in the construction trades.

Applications can be submitted from anyone pursing an education at a technical/trade school, community college or university. The award for an individual will be for one year. Applications will be reviewed by a Selection Committee comprised of representatives from Benjamin Media, Continuum Capital, SkillsUSA and the Westphal family.

Since 2021, the Bob Westphal Memorial Scholarship has awarded $30,000 to students pursuing careers in energy construction. Past winners included Gillian Dahn of Austin, Texas; John Kraft of Ponchatoula, Louisiana; Timothy Sparks of Buckeye, West Virginia; and Nick Swank of Medina, Ohio, in 2021; Diego Calderon, of Arlington, Texas; Sara Galante, of Syracuse, New York; Kash Landry, Bossier City, Louisiana; and Zach Wynstra, of South Beloit, Illinois, in 2023; and Christopher Klay Brinkley, of Pocola, Oklahoma; Gatlin Bunch, of West Plains, Missouri; Jordan Coon, of Tupelo, Mississippi; and Korbin Hunt, of Gillette, Wyoming, in 2023.

For more information about the scholarship and how to apply, visit the SkillsUSA website at  

Listen to more in-depth conversations on Solar Builder's YouTube channel

Our most popular series include:

Power Forward! | A collaboration with BayWa r.e. to discuss higher level industry topics.
The Buzz | Where we give our 2 cents per kWh on the residential solar market.
The Pitch | Discussions with solar manufacturers about their new technology and ideas.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed here.